No Show

I was driving to work last week when I saw an odd glow in the sky off to my right.  I couldn’t think of where such light could be coming from until I saw the smoke plume that came with it.  Fire.  A big one.  An apartment complex less than two miles from where I live went up in flames.  I saw the flames from the road I was one, and a ladder truck fully extended and pouring water on the huge blaze.  It was horrifying to see.  Fortunately, I found out later, the building was under construction and not occupied.  Unfortunately, the complex next door was evacuated and later deemed uninhabitable due to heat and water damage.  Two firefighters were hurt, but were soon released from the hospital.  Some people who lived nearby lost power as the firefighters battled the blaze and tried to keep it from spreading to neighboring buildings.  My brother’s complex a block or so away was affected.  He later described walking out to his car the next morning and finding it covered in a layer of ash.  I believe it.  I could smell the smoke and such from my home when I returned the next morning.  They haven’t released a cause for the fire yet, but I really hope it wasn’t arson.

My boss has been excited for a week or more about a new co-worker who was to join our team.  I met this person briefly last week and they seemed to have a good head on their shoulders.  Then, the day they were supposed to start actually working without a trainer shadowing their every move, they failed to show.  My shift lead was not feeling well that morning, so I offered to let him go when my relief came in.  He was grateful.  I called a number of times in hopes of reaching the person and figuring out why they weren’t at work.  Nothing.  No answer.  No return calls.  Nothing.  Another co-worker was kind enough to come in on their day off to relieve me.  I was grateful.  I have no idea if my boss was able to get a hold of the new co-worker and find out what happened.  I’ll leave that to them, I guess.

My cat has been a royal pest the past few days, especially in the evenings.  I’m not sure why.  He’s been yowling and trying to get into rooms he has no business being in.  It doesn’t matter if I’m home, not home, if he’s been fed or watered, etc.  If someone goes to investigate the noise, he flees into my room.  Bratty kitty.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

