Spring is Here

I think.  It hasn’t really warmed up as much as I would like, and it’s still fairly wet out there, but the daffodils and tulips are slowly blooming in the flowerbeds and I was out yesterday pulling dandelions up.  Also, my cats are spending more time away from the heating vent behind the couch, so I take that as a good sign.

Our front and back lawns are non-existent, really.  They are infested with dandelions and moss.  The front yard especially is more moss than grass.  Mom wants to tear everything out and put in a new lawn.  I’m all for it.  She also wants to make part of the backyard more level.  That would be nice.  It’s so uneven back there that I risk rolling my ankle just walking.  We also need to look at repairing our fence.  It’s old and coming apart in places, especially with how wet it’s been this year.

My youngest brother is in the midst of buying a house.  He figured that was more cost effective than facing another rent hike at the apartment building he’s been living at for the past several years.  I’m proud of him.  He was hoping our other brother might consider moving in with him, but that doesn’t look possible at the moment.  Our brother is resistant to change, despite acknowledging that this would provide a better living situation for him.  Perhaps down the road he’ll be more open.  One step at a time.  I have to remember that with our brother.  He tends to act out if we push too hard.

Next week, Mom and I will make our annual trip up to the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival.  I am confident that we’ll see a lot more than we did last year.  We had a fairly warm spring last year and waited a bit too long to make the trip, so most of the tulips were spent by the time we got there.  We still enjoyed ourselves, don’t get me wrong, but I’m really looking forward to getting many more pictures.  Also, as always when we make this trip, I will be looking out for the older abandoned buildings along the way.  It’s always interesting to see which of those old buildings are still standing each year.  There are also stops at a local needlework shop and the local market for ice cream planned.  We might even have company with us this year, though that hasn’t been confirmed yet.  We’ll see.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

