Falls and Cars

My grandfather has fallen twice recently.  On the 22nd, we were notified of the second fall. It was while Mom was checking on him that evening that he admitted that there’d been another about a month prior. That fall was the worst. There was concern that he may have fractured something, so Mom made arrangements to take him in for x-rays. She also notified her siblings of this development. Well, she tried to. My uncle and one aunt promptly responded and have been in contact. Another aunt, who has refused to speak with Mom for more than a year now, has not acknowledged Mom’s message. Mom and I were wondering if she’s blocked Mom’s cell phone and such. Anyway, I haven’t heard anything about the results of those x-rays, but Mom was under the impression that there was nothing serious to be worried about. I’m glad, but I really hope Grandpa stops withholding such details. Yes, we worry when something happens, but we need to know so we can help with any necessary appointments. 

Mom told me that Grandpa brought up the possibility of hospice care for Grandma for the first time while she was helping him with his doctor’s appointment. He said it would be soon, but he doesn’t think her health has deteriorated that badly yet. I’m not sure I agree, but she continues to surpass my expectations in terms of longevity. 

A few days after Grandpa’s fall, I was rear-ended while stopped at a traffic light. Neither of us were hurt, thankfully, and I was ecstatic that the other driver stopped and exchanged information, but I’m not happy about having to replace the bumper again. My car is 15 years old, and it’s no longer made, so getting parts can be a challenge. I have a rental car while my car is in the shop. I know I could’ve borrowed a car, but that would mean someone else has to find another way to work out wherever in the meantime. I wouldn’t want to burden them, so a rental seemed like the best option.

Anyway, it wasn’t the greatest week, but things are looking up. 

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

